QChamberstream to present global broadcast on Easter Monday from Viersen Germany

By March 9, 2021 Uncategorized

Freiburg Baroque Orchestra and recorder flute soloist Maurice Steger perform works by Handel, Telemann, and Vivaldi — Live from the Festhalle of the City of Viersen, available globally from QChamberstream.com and QChamberstream.com.cn

Together with the city of Viersen, QChamberstream.com presents a unique Easter concert, paired with a special offer for the local audience that supports the local restaurant industry. The Freiburg Baroque Orchestra will play the festive program TEMPESTA DI MARE with works by Handel, Vivaldi and Telemann with recorder flute soloist Maurice Steger under the direction of the orchestra’s concertmaster Leila Schayegh. The concert will be broadcast worldwide via QChamberstream.com and in mainland China via QChamberstream.com.cn.

“For the second time in a row we cannot celebrate Easter the way we are used to, neither together with family nor in the concert hall. We are all the more pleased that we can broadcast a first-class concert live from the Festhalle of the City of Viersen Performing absolute baroque masterpieces by Vivaldi, Handel and Telemann, we are joined by two exceptional artists with whom we are working for the first time: Maurice Steger on the recorder flute and Leila Schayegh, who will lead the concert from the violin. We have been determined to make Easter a highlight of the entire year.” Hans-Georg Kaiser, Intendant und Geschäftsführer des Freiburger Barockorchesters

Historically informed performance practice means performing the “pre-classical” music – that is, mostly music that is well over 200 years old – in the style and arrangements the composer would have been familiar with. In accordance with all the information contained in the primary sources. Harnoncourt in Austria and Leonhard in the Netherlands began to develop this style of playing in the middle of the last century. Today it is the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra that sets the tone internationally for Historically informed performances. Following the ensemble’s debut in mainland China in 2012, we are very much looking forward to presenting this top ensemble in a broadcast from the Festhalle der Stadt Viersen to all Chinese music enthusiasts on QChamberstream. Enjoy the verve and the virtuoso shine of the “Tempesta di Mare!

It is not surprising that Maurice Steger is called “Paganini”, “wizard”, “the world’s leading recorder player” or an “electrifying and inspiring conductor”. In order to live up to such high expectations, one requires not only astonishing technique, but also charisma, intellect, and a special sensitivity for the music. Maurice Steger has been proving all of this to his audiences, inspiring with his intense tone and unstoppable energy in various concert formats all over the world.

The Freiburg Baroque Orchestra (FBO) is one of the leading ensembles of historically informed performance practices. For more than 30 years the orchestra has shaped international musical life and continues to through its concerts, touring, and recordings. While the core repertoire of the orchestra is baroque and classical music, they have expanded their performance repertoire to include romantic music, especially the works by Mendelssohn and Schumann. In the spirit of historically informed performance practice, the FBO usually performs concerts without a conductor. The extraordinary musical diversity of the FBO is documented on critically acclaimed recordings which have amassed numerous prizes and awards, including several ECHO Klassik awards and nominations for both the Grammy and the German Record Critics association awards.

The Festhalle of the City of Viersen was founded in 1913 and is praised worldwide for its particularly outstanding acoustics. Many top-class orchestras and ensembles were drawn here, including the Berlin Philharmonic under Herbert von Karajan following the end of the Second World War. QChamberstream.com is particularly pleased to present this year’s Easter concert from this historic hall.


Easter Monday Concert, 5 April 2021, from the Festhalle of the City of Viersen

G.F. Handel (1685-1759): from Water Music Suite No. 1 in F-Major, HWV 348 I. Ouverture II. Adagio e staccato

A. Vivaldi (1678-1741): Concerto in F Major, RV 98 “La tempesta di Mare”

G.F. Handel (1685-1759) from Water Music Suite No. 1 in F Major, HWV 348 III. Allegro IV. A Tempo di Menuetto V. Air VI. Menuett

F. Geminiani (1687-1762): Concerto Nr. 7 in d minor

G.F. Handel (1685-1759) from Water Music Suite No 1 in F Major, HWV 348 VII. Bourrée VIII. Hornpipe XI. Allegro moderato

G.F. Handel (1685-1759): Water Music Suite No. 3 in G Major, HWV 350

G.P. Telemann (1681-1767): Concerto in C Major, TWV 51:C1

G.F. Handel (1685-1759): Water Music Suite No. 2 D Major, HWV 349

Maurice Steger, recorder flute

Leila Schayegh, violin and concertmaster

Freiburg Baroque Orchestra

A ticket for the concert costs EUR 10 / USD 10 –

With the purchase of a ticket, you can access the LIVE broadcast at 1PM EDT / 19:00 MEZ on 5 April 2021 and also access the rebroadcast for on demand streaming until 5 June 2021.



Project idea and Execution: Tanja Dorn & Bernhard Fleischer

Execution: Dorn Music / www.dornmusic.com & BFMI / www.bfmi.at

Concert Hall: Festhalle of the City of Viersen

Streaming in mainland China, Hong Kong and Macau over the new website: http://www.qchamberstream.com.cn

Ticketing & Marketing: Ticketmaster / Universe

Social Media: Dorn Music

Payment Methods: Credit Card, PayPal, WeChat Pay und Alipay


Founded by Dorn Music and Bernhard Fleischer Moving Images in April 2020, the new streaming channel QChamberstream.com is your home for quality chamber music streaming. QChamberstream enables you to experience live performances of cutting edge soloists and chamber ensembles in the highest quality in your own living room.