June 14, 2020 - 20:00 (CET)

Gaby Moreno, singer-songwriter

Latin Grammy award winning singer-songwriter, Gaby Moreno performs exclusively on QChamberStream.

All Access Keys: EUR 25 / approx. USD 27

June 14 – Gravity Media, LA

“Every new release from Moreno promises to be a great adventure in soulful, cross-cultural goodness.”

-NPR Music

Gaby Moreno, singer-songwriter

Since moving to Los Angeles from her native Guatemala, singer-songwriter-producer Gaby Moreno has released 5 albums, earned a Grammy nomination for her album, Illusion (Best Latin Pop Album, 2017), an Emmy nomination (for co-writing the “Parks & Recreation” theme song), and won a Latin Grammy (Best New Artist, 2013).  In 2006 she took the Grand Prize in the John Lennon Songwriting Contest, the first contestant in the Latin category to win Song of the Year (she’s now a judge). Gaby also sings the theme song and voices the character Marlena on the multi Emmy Award-winning Disney children’s television series, “Elena of Avalor,” which features Disney’s first Latina princess.

Her moving version of “Cucurrucucú Paloma” was chosen to play at the end of the emotional  episode “God Bless America” for the last season of Netflix’ original show, “Orange Is The New Black” .

Moreno has shared the international stage with pop music luminaries such as Bono, Andrea Boccelli, Tracy Chapman, Ani DiFranco, Punch Brothers, Hugh Laurie, Buena Vista Social Club, Calexico, David Gray and many more.  More recently, she has appeared on Live From Here, hosted by five-time Grammy winner/MacArthur Genius, Chris Thile.

Her more recent album “¡Spangled!” (Oct. 2019) is a collaboration with American musician, songwriter and arranger, Van Dyke Parks.

The ten-song set celebrates the migration of song across the  Americas and spans more than a century, including a bolero from Panama, a  bossa nova from Brazil, and an elegiac ballad from the Southwest United States—Ry Cooder, John Hiatt, and Jim Dickinson’s ”Across the Borderline,” performed with Cooder and Jackson Browne. The album also includes one of Moreno’s own songs as well as the previously released track “The Immigrants”  by Trinidadian songwriter David Rudder.