July 19, 2020 - 17:00 (CET)

Xinyuan Wang, piano

Works by Mozart, Mendelssohn, Kurtág, and Schumann.

Thanks to a generous gift to celebrate our first broadcast available in China, the July 19, 2020 performance by XINYUAN WANG is available for EUR 5.

July 19 – Meininger Staatstheater

“ Your Interpretation reminds me of Piotr Anderszewski…… Full of details with deep consideration and present to the audiences in an extraordinary way. Both of you have succeeded through the Leeds and are distinguished from your kind. I’m sure that you will make a bright future!”

— Bruno Monsaingeon

Xinyuan Wang, piano

Chinese pianist Xinyuan Wang established his career when he won the bronze medal and “medici.tv” audience prize at the 19th Leeds International Piano Competition in 2018. Since then he has performed numerous concerts in England, Germany, France, Hungary, Portugal, and China. Highlights include performances at Salle Cortot in Paris, Harrogate Music Festival, Chetham Piano Summer School in England, Palace of Arts (Müpa) in Hungary, Central Conservatory in China and his debut at the London Wigmore Hall broadcasted by medici.tv and BBC Radio 3.

Xinyuan’s interpretation is widely acclaimed by many musicians and critics.: “Xinyuan Wang is a deeply committed musician with a unique voice and a striking ability to communicate with his listeners.”commented by pianist Paul Lewis. The “International Piano” magazine acclaimed him for his hugely impressive interpretation of works by Franz Schubert and Bela Bartók.

Born in Guizhou, China. Xinyuan received his first piano lesson at the age of eight in his hometown before enrolling at the age of 12 to the Sichuan Conservatory to study with Professor Yan Wang. Currently he continues his studies at the Franz Liszt University in Weimar, Germany under Professor Balázs Szokolay.


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart 
Piano Sonata in Eb Major, K.282
I. Adagio
II. Menuetto I-II
III. Allegro

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
Variations Sérieuses, Op. 54

György Kurtág
Selections from ‘Játékok
I. Prelude and Walz in C
II. Galop
III. Boisterous Csárdás
IV. (Harmonica)
V. Dirge(2)
VI. flowers We Are, Frail Flowers …(1b)
VII. Obstinate A-flat
VIII. Hommage à Petrovics
IX. Scraps of a Colinda Melody – faintly recollected
X. Perpetuum mobile

Robert Schumann
Piano Sonata in F-Sharp Minor, Op. 11
I. Introduzione, Un poco adagio – Allegro vivace
II. Aria
III. Scherzo e Intermezzo, Allegrissimo – Lento
IV. Finale, Allegro un poco maestoso

Introduction to Xinyuan Wang by pianist Paul Lewis

Introduction to Xinyuan Wang by pianist Imogen Cooper